Tomatoe Sauce Hot Dogs

Tomato Sauce Hot Dogs

So by now you should know that I’m not one for the normal. I like experimenting with different things and food is definably not exempt. So when it comes to hot dogs I never stick to the rules. Just grilling them, or boiling them is not enough for me. I have to do something more.

Omaha Steaks 8 (3 oz.) Gourmet Franks

I take a soup pot and put one part ketchup (which we’ll talk about in a second). One part tomato (as in spaghetti) sauce, or you could do BBQ sauce. And one part sweet and sour sauce, or you can put Chinese duck sauce or plain honey. To this you need to add about half part water.

La Choy Sweet & Sour Duck Sauce

CATTLEMEN’S Master’s Reserve Kansas City Classic BBQ Sauce: 18 OZ

Eden Foods Spaghetti Sauce, 25-Ounce

So, I’ve gotten weird looks in the past about ketchup. And people seem to forget how great ketchup is. The main ingredients in ketchup are tomatoes, vinegar, sugar, salt, herbs, spices, garlic and onion powder. What’s wrong with that?! That’s awesome! So there. This is why I love to use ketchup. (haha!)

Heinz Ketchup Tomato 20-oz

What is half part and what is a part? Well it really depends of the amount you are making. If you just want to make a few hot dogs I recommend you only adding half a cup of each. So that means half a cup of ketchup, tomato and sweet and sour sauce. And since the water is half the amount then you’d do one fourth of a cup of water.

To this sauce you may add onions and sweet peppers. Or you may also grill the onions and peppers apart and add to the sauce as soon as they’re caramelized.

Melissa’s Fresh Shallots, 3 Packages (3 oz)

when you have this put together it’s only a matter of adding the hot dog to the sauce. Which hot dogs? That’s up to you. I love turkey hot dogs. And that’s what I made tonight. Let the hot dogs sit in the sauce for at least 5 to 10 minutes. Keep the stove to medium to low temperature because you dont want the sauce to splatter everywhere.

Tomato Sauce Hot Dogs

Tomato Sauce Hot Dogs

You can serve the hot dogs in any type of bread. It’s all up to you. In this part you can do what I do, which is to never follow the rules. You’re not obligates to use hot dog bread. This would be a great time to explore all the different types of bread that would be great to go with hot dogs.

Wonder Hot Dog Buns, 8 ct

Ofcourse the usual suspects are always present. Relish, mustard and cheese will never be too much.

French’s Classic Yellow Mustard – 2/30 oz.

Vlasic Sweet Pickle Relish, 10 fl oz

Remember to rate this post, share on Facebook and Twitter, or email to a friend!

Leave a comment with questions, or you can email me at casualpabulum@gmail.com.

I hope you enjoy!