I talk about this all the time and at times drive people crazy.

But first, let me just admit, I do not like hot tea. It doesn’t matter what it is. I just don’t palette the taste of hot tea. On the other hand, I love iced teas.

I’ve been using this same recipe for a long time now. It’s only been a few years since I got into different types of teas. My most favorite is cold green tea; or iced green tea.

Simple Syrup

Simple Syrup

I start with making a simple syrup. This is called simple syrup because it’s just that; simple. You put water and sugar in a pot and boil until the sugar melts a little. See? Simple! On this occasion since I’m making tea I like to add fresh fruits to the simple syrup just to add a little something to my tea.

Fresh Fruit Club – 1 month

I pour the simple syrup mixture into the amount of liquid I want to make. I usually make a lot. About 2 quarts of tea last me the entire week. OK, sometimes it doesn’t last the entire week, but that’s not the point.

Lipton Green Tea, Lemon Ginseng, Tea Bags, 20-Count Boxes (Pack of 6)

I add 4 tea bags to the boiling liquid and let it mix for around 5 minutes in the hot pot. I use a strainer to separate the liquid from the solids. All of those fruits can be used for snacking later. Just put in a plastic container and freeze. You can enjoy a nice fruit cocktail when ever you desire.

Boiling Tea and Simple Syrup

Boiling Tea and Simple Syrup

Once you have separated well the solids from the liquids you may need to add a little more water, maybe some honey and lemon for taste. It depends what’s your liking. There are no rules for this part.

Melissa’s Fresh Lemons Meyer (5 lb)

I like to let the mixture chill over night. But at times when I need immediate quenching  I put lots of ice in a glass or tea cup and pour over the ice to cool faster.

You have to be a tea person. Tea isn’t for everyone. It is a taste preference kind-of thing. If you want to get into consuming tea for health reasons, or just because you want to try it, then this is the recipe for you.

Iced Green Tea

Iced Green Tea

Good Luck!

Enjoy!