I don’t post a lot of breakfast ideas. Because I’m usually running out the door with my breakfast. It is the most important meal of the day. And it should be our priority to make it the healthiest and heaviest meal. It will define how much energy we will have to begin our day and how our bodies will function all through the day.

Pancakes

Pancakes

Imagine getting into your car every morning, with an empty gas tank. But then asking yourself “how come the car wont start?”. Well this happens to almost everyone that skips breakfast. We drag our feet and question why we’re so hungry at 11AM, and then why we’re so drowsy in the middle of the afternoon. Well, all of this has to do with breakfast. Dedicate some time to making a full meal early in the morning (or at least try). I know time is an issue with some of you, so you may need to get creative. Go on, try it out for at least one week. You’ll see that you’ll feel more energized and ready to take on the day. Accompany this with a good knight sleep. It wont help much if you’re going to bed at 3AM and waking up at 5AM.

I’m a sandwich guy. So during the week it’s business as usual. I choose multigrain bread. Always add salad and lean meats. I try to not add cheese all the time, but to be honest, almost always my sandwiches have cheddar. For health reasons I do not put eggs in my sandwiches, but I do at least once a week. My family has a history of high cholesterol, and right now I do not have any health problems, it makes me feel better knowing that I can prevent now instead of regretting it later. I take my vitamins, and wash it all down with my favorite iced green tea. I run out the door with sandwich on hand ready to take on the day.

Pancakes

Pancakes

On the weekends it’s a different story. I don’t have to run out the door in the mornings (not all the time). I can take my time and make a nice full meal. This time, it was pancakes. You can go to the market and get a box of instant pancake mix. Or you can combine all purpose flour, sugar, salt, milk, baking powder and eggs. To this mix you can add fruit. I do. Bananas, blueberries or strawberries are great.

I’ll be totally honest with you, I always make pancakes from the instant mix. I make sure the product is safe. That there aren’t a lot of un-pronounceable ingredients. In fact if I can’t identify an ingredient in any of the instant pancake mix products, it’s a good chance I’m making them from scratch.

"The Pancake Mix Dispenser Gadget"

"The Pancake Mix Dispenser Gadget"

Once I have everything mixed I used to use a soup ladle to pour the mix in the pan. It’s the perfect size that gives me the same amount every time. I say I used to use it because just recently I found something so wonderful I almost cannot find the words to describe it. It’s this simple but amazing contraption that will hold a large amount of pancake mix. It has a release button at the top that allows you to dispense how ever much pancake mix you want onto the pan. It makes perfect pancakes every time. I don’t know where it came from. I don’t know who bought it, or where. But I know I will be having pancakes a lot often now because of this newly found kitchen tool.

Remember to rate this post, share on Facebook and Twitter, or email to a friend!

Leave a comment with questions and opinions, or you can email me at casualpabulum@gmail.com.

I hope you enjoy!