What is a “dip”?

It’s a sauce or cream that it’s soul intention is to be eaten by dipping something in it.

There’s a boxing event coming soon and I decided I wanted to practice my dip making skills. I have always wanted to make this recipe. It’s been in my head for a long time. I have to say this turned out very good.

I take cheddar cheese and whip it until it becomes soft and creamy. You may buy the cheddar cheese blocks in the market, or can get already prepared in a jar. To this soften cheese I add cream cheese. You may do this over a boiling pot just to keep things warm and soft, it will whip and mix better. Just place the mixing bowl over the boiling pot of water. It will heat your mixing bowl. Just don’t get any water in the cheese mix.

Cheese Dip

Cheese Dip

I finely chopped half of a small onion, one small green sweet pepper and one small sweet yellow pepper. These peppers taste the same, it’s more for color and decoration, but they do taste delicious. Why chop it all finely? Well, because we want to have a little bit of everything when we dip something. Large chunks will sort of fall off, or just sink to the bottom of the bowl. And then we wont be able to taste anything… other than cheese. And that’s not a bad thing, but we want to taste everything else also. In addition, everything is chopped finely and in small amounts because with this recipe I wanted to have a hint of all the components without them being overpowering. Remember this is a cheese dip, and the main protagonist is the cheddar.

I throw in a pinch of parsley and basil.

All of these amounts depend on how many people you will be serving. This dip is for less than 10 people, and since it’s a get-together there will be other things to snack on. So I don’t want to make a huge amount.

In the end this is a delicious cheese dip. It’s rich and creamy. You get a mouth full of cheese and a really tasty hint from the peppers, onions and aromatics.

Remember to rate this post, share on Facebook and Twitter, or email to a friend!

Leave a comment with questions and opinions, or you can email me at casualpabulum@gmail.com.

I hope you enjoy!