The point of this whole meal was to make sweet potato fries. I have always wanted to make them. I have tasted other people’s dishes with sweet potato fries. And have always heard how great they are. But never actually made it. Well, today was the day!

King Crab and Sweet Potato Fries

King Crab and Sweet Potato Fries

I buy king crab from the market. I understand it’s not exactly fresh. But as long as it’s sealed air tight it’ll be good. And sometimes I have to take a few minutes to read the package to make sure it’s real king crab. Look out for labels that read “made from…” or “Imitation…”. In this case, if it said “Made from King Crab” it would mean that it comes from king crab parts, the left overs, remember about those? Sometimes processing companies have left over parts that do not qualify in size or quantity. So they grind up all of these left over parts, cook, mold, season, and sometimes color for decoration. And that’s what you see in some markets as “imitation” or “made from” king crab products.

The king crab does not need to be cooked. I pull the king crab gently and toss in a mixing bowl with onions, vinegar and olive oil. This needs to sit for a while so the king crab can absorb all of these great flavors.

On the other hand, the sweet potatoes need some work. This is a brick size vegetable. It threatens other large potatoes. It needs to be washed, pealed and chopped. This is a tough vegetable to chop. You have to be almost violent with it. A large cutting knife is definitely needed. I cut the sweet potato just like I would when making french fries. On this occasion I cut the sweet potato too thin. I realize this because of the explosion of taste. It is called sweet potato for a reason. I quickly realize I should have cut the fries thicker so I could get more of a mouth full of taste. The sweet potato was fried to a golden crisp on a medium high, large frying pan, with extra virgin olive oil.

The king crab was served cold. The sweet potatoes were served hot and crispy. This was a quick and tasty meal that leaves you wanting more every time.

King Crab and Sweet Potato Fries

King Crab and Sweet Potato Fries

Remember to rate this post, share on Facebook and Twitter, or email to a friend!

Leave a comment with questions and opinions, or you can email me at casualpabulum@gmail.com.

I hope you enjoy!