I absolutely love making this dish because it’s what I think food should be. It’s hardy but good, and it does the job (kills hunger fast but in a really tasty way). I spent the whole day driving and didn’t want to cook at all. For come reason I went to get fish and rice with beans, but the place didn’t have ATM service. And of course I came straight home to make it out of frustration. LOL

Grilled fish with arroz con habicuelas

Grilled fish with arroz con habicuelas

I made sure the fish was defrosted. We’ve talked about this. Frozen food tends to splash and splatter all over the place. But this time I didn’t fry the fish.

With a small amount of butter I set the fish on a flat grill. I let it get nice and golden for 2 or 3 minutes on each side. I keep the grill on a medium, to medium high temperature. Butter has a very low heat capacity. It will burn very fast.

Let me confess, I can’t make rice. I screw it up all the time. It’s the simplest thing in the world and I can’t make it. Either it turns out raw or it over cooks.

So at this time I put the rice on a large pan. I always remember it’s 2:3. If I make 3 cups of rice then I add 2 cups of water. I cover the rice on high heat. As soon as it boils I set it on low and forget about it. If I lift the lid too many times heat will be lost from the inside and that’s not good. So I leave it alone for about 10 minutes.

The beans are different. I take a large sauce pan and dump a can of beans in it. I add tomato paste, tomato sauce, and ketchup (yes, ketchup, leave me alone, I love that stuff). I let this sit on the stove for about the whole time the rice is being cooked.

The fish gets done really quick.

I serve in a simple plate. No decorations. No celebration. It’s time to enjoy.

The fish is flaky and soft. The rice turned out OK, and the beans were rich and savory.

Remember to rate this post, share on Facebook and Twitter, or email to a friend!

Leave a comment with questions and opinions, or you can email me at casualpabulum@gmail.com.

I hope you enjoy!