Yay! Today is Fish and Chips Daaaay!

It’s really fried potato slices.

‘Fries’, as they’re popularly known for in the US. And ‘chips’ as they’re popularly known for in Europe.

But I digress.

Fish and Chips

Fish and Chips

I went to the market and got fresh Tilapia Fish. It’s really important that the fish be unfrozen, for various reasons. #1, you don’t want oil splattering all over your kitchen. It will make a mess and depending on what you got around, the oil splatters can cause a fire. #2, the fish wont cook all the way through. With a froze fish it will take longer to cook. You’ll be waiting for the fish to actually defrost in the oil. And you may end up with a pink center. When you’re frying tilapia you want it to be white, flaky and juicy.

Omaha Steaks 4 (6 oz.) Lemon Peppered Tilapia Fillets

I made a simple egg-wash and had left over some of that whole grain flour from the bread I made the other day. I put the egg-wash in a container and put the flour in a separate one with some thyme and basil. I made sure my tilapia sat for 10 to 15 minutes in the egg-wash just so the fish gets nice and coated. One by one I cover the tilapia with the flour. Flip it a few times in the flour container and that will be enough.

Great River Organic Milling 100% Organic Bread Flour Whole Wheat, 5 Pound Bags (Pack of 4)

Frontier Thyme Leaf Certified Organic, 16 Ounce Bag

BASIL FRESHLY PACKED IN LARGE JARS, spices, herbs, seasonings

Very carefully slide the fish into the hot oil. OK. Lets talk about oil. I love extra virgin olive oil. I love the taste and it’s versatility. You should know that extra virgin olive oil is not ideal for frying food. It has a very low heat capacity. So even if you do decide to use extra virgin olive understand that it will smoke sooner and depending on what you put in it can burn faster. My recommendation is to always use peanut oil. It has a much higher heat capacity. And still will give you some added taste. If you’re the allergic type, then just go with regular vegetable oil.

Dintel Extra Virgin Olive Oil D.O. – small

All Natural Unfiltered Extra Virgin Roasted Peanut Oil – 12.3 FL OZ

Goya Vegetable Oil 16 Fl. Oz(473 ml)

With that said, I use extra virgin olive oil to do all of my frying. LOL!

For the ‘chips’ I love large potatoes. I never cut them thin enough. so I love using a potato cutter. I didn’t use it tonight. I just wasn’t in the mood. Yeah, it happens. Again be careful when putting things in hot oil. Always use a large frying pan and slide your food in. The potatoes potatoes must stay in the oil until crispy or golden brown. For me, it’s a texture thing. I like to bite and crunch into my ‘fries’, or ‘chips’. And it must be soft and “potato-ish” inside (hahaha!). Same goes for the fish. It must have a crunch on the outside and be flaky and juicy inside.

Progressive International Vegetable/French Fry Cutter

Things to notice. And you will notice quite a lot here. I don’t add salt to anything. And this is some of the less than a handful of foods I actually fry. But we’ll talk more about that in future entries. I make sure that the ingredients I use are flavorful and healthy. And understand there are far better options to flavor food. So to be adding salt to everything is cutting myself short from actually rich and interesting flavoring ideas.

I hope you guys had fun with this. I know I did.

Take care of yourselves.

Continue to eat healthy.

Enjoy!

Fnch Fry Cutter